The recently concluded North Luzon Film Festival (NLFF) recognized filmmakers from the regions of Ilocos, Cayagan Valley, Cordillera, and Central Luzon at the awards night held in Tuguegarao City, Cagayan on March 26.

Jensen Paul Danao’s Fiyag Ad Ngatu won Best Picture in the College and Filmmakers Category while Joan Ivy Garcia’s Pula sa Pilak won Best Picture in the High School Category.

Organized by the North Luzon Cinema Guild, this year’s NLFF themed “Cinema Padday, Sikami Nga Taga-Norte,” is the first Regional Independent Film Festival. The North Luzon Cinema Guilds Founding Director Jerome Dulin served as the Festival Director of NLFF. According to Joseph Arcegono, NLFF Festival Coordinator, the goal of the festival is to promote and preserve North Luzon Culture through film as an artistic impression.

22 film entries from all over North Luzon competed in the said festival. Here is the full list of winners of Cinema Padday 2017:


Best Picture: Fiyag Ad Ngatu by Jensen Paul Danao
Best Director: Darryl Yap, Squatterina
Best Actor: Kristoffer Galinato, Squatterina
Best Actress: Jeava Baggas, Fiyag Ad Ngatu
Best Cinematography: John Carlo Nova, Squatterina
Best Production Design: Coleen Angela Romero and Janelyn Ancheta, Fiyag Ad Ngatu
Best Editing: Mark Aguirre, Death March
Best Sound Design: Mark Aguirre, Basta No Talk Ako
Best Screenplay: Ang Lihim ng Stalker by Redz Olarte
Special Jury Citation for Animated Film: Ang Lihim ng Stalker by Redz Olarte


Best Picture: Pula sa Pilak by Joan Ivy Garcia
Best Director: Joan Ivy Garcia, Pula sa Pilak
Best Actor: Benito Alipio III, In The Name of Love
Best Actess: Jaymaida Tabangcura, In The Name of Love
Best Screenplay: Pinissay by Jomalyn Derige
Best Cinematography: Pula sa Pilak by Joan Ivy Garcia
Best Production Design: Balintataw by Kiana Rubenecia
Best Editing: In The Name of Love by China Pagulayan
Special Jury Prize: Pinissay by Jomalyn Derige